Brewer Fanatic

question for the weightlifters here

GAME05

I've been lifting and doing cardio for three months now with the goal of flattening the stomach (smallish beer belly) and building upper-body bulk when there was none before. I know it's kind of contradictory to both lose fat and gain muscle, so i thought maybe you all might have some suggestions.

I've been going to the gym every day (the need to maintain routine and not stop going). With each exercise I do 3x7 and 1x12 (:45-1:00 in total) and then :30 of cardio. I just started a 3-day cycle instead of a 2-day one (prevent muscle fatigue), with just one of those days on compound exercises like pullups and dips and such at high-rep, low weight. The other two days it's heavy weight to build muscle. Should I be concentrating on more compound exercises instead of isolated ones? Should I forget mass-building alltogether and concentrate on losing the gut first or vice-versa? I'm kind of at a loss if what I'm doing is going to be achieving optimum results or even if this isn't effective. Plus I don't have a lot of muscle bulk to begin with, so i don't want to get just outright skinny with no muscle just to lose the gut. For the past two months my weight has remained fairly steady.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Diet: good foods 80% of the time, taking creatine and 175 g of protein (was previously taking 120 g, but I weigh 200), and roughly 2,000 calories per day.

I was once overweight withotu muscle so I started takig creatine and working out. It worked nice - I bulked up - but what it does is makes you retain water I believe(muscle is mostly water) . Once I stopped taking it and working out I not only lost my bulk but I became fatter than ever before. Now I am trying to get the courage back to go to the YMCA and workout but I have looking at myself. And it happened quick.