Brewer Fanatic

How to vote in the Wisconsin Primary...

twobrewers

Ok, so I am way to old to say that I have never voted before - but well, I haven't.

I've never registered to vote. And obviously, I never voted.

I would like to be able to vote in the Wisconsin Primary next week. (Notice how I am not mentioning any candidates because I don't want to turn this into a political thread!) I just want to know what I have to do.

I found my polling place online. But do I need to register before hand? Or can I just show up to my polling place, based on where I live - and vote?

Any help is appreciated.

You can show up at the polling place (in Wisconsin) in order to vote....but....you have to bring with you something to validate your address (piece of delivered mail showing your name and address).

Thank you for keeping this apolitical, BTW.

It is fairly easy to register to vote. I have registered to vote in two different cities (once in Whitewater when I was a student at the old Armory building and also once in my hometown, Racine. I even voted absentee a few times when I began my schooling at UW-W and lived in the dorms.)

All you need is a photo ID (State ID preferred 99 percent of the time), a utility bill (electric, etc.) or if you don't have a utility bill, you can bring in a cell phone bill with the address. It also helps to know your polling place because sometimes people get confused and go to a different polling place. But I was ineligible to vote in Racine during one primary election (sometime in April) because I recently voted for President in 2004 in Whitewater and still had an address in Whitewater, so be careful when changing addresses and know your living situation timetable.

I would really recommend registering ahead of time. You can register at the polls, but given the expected turnout, I'd do it now, so you can ask questions and take your time, and really understand whats going on, and not be at the mercy of a swamped poll-worker.