Brewer Fanatic

Gamel vs LaPorta

ORLANDOBREWER

LaPorta! He played a pretty decent left field, and he's really yet to spend enough time to understand the position, but I would deem him MORE than adequate for a transitional position! He moves well in the outfield, and I'm not sure Gamel can. LaPorta's physical stature is more outfielder than Gamel.

Okay, I'm no expert, but it bothered me that Gamel was clearly the better player in Hawaii. He is younger and played at a higher minor league level. I'd take LaPorta, but I also wouldn't be surprised if I kicked myself in the pants someday when Gamel outdoes LaPorta on the major league level albeit with a different team since Mat is as good as gone the way he's blocked.

And That: true dat on strike zone judgement.

Is Mat really going to be taken seriously as a 3Bman? I think that whatever team ends up with him switches him to the outfield. His extra speed should make him a better defender out there than LaPorta, right? How do their arms compare? I assume that Mat's is significantly better given that LaPorta was mired at 1st in college and Mat's a 3rd baseman.

Gillespie. Oh wait, Gamel or LaPorta? LaPorta, who would likely hit 20 homers + with somewhat regular playing time even if he hit below .250 and struck out over 150 times.

But I'm a big fan of Gamel, and feel he is going to eventually get squeezed given the perceived logjam pretty much everywhere on the field, as LaPorta likely will be given more opportunities to succeed even if Gamel deserves as much of a chance.

And Gamel reportedly has a cannon for an arm at 3B, which likely would translate well to the OF, but as noted, he's not playing LF yet as LaPorta is, so there is a bigger learning curve there moving forward assuming he gets moved off of third eventually.