Brewer Fanatic

Free agent salaries

danzig6767

Reading on this major league board and in the trade board, i often saw posters balk at salaries being made by some players they might want in Milwaukee or that might end up here. More times than not when i'd read this, my thoughts were that many posters aren't grasping just how high salaries are heading up because baseball is swimming in cash and that players they might think are overpaid, really might be underpaid. A yearly salary of 10-11-12 million not long ago brought a fairly top shelf player, now it likely won't be enough to land Carlos Silva. Many folks think A.Jones/ T.Hunter are overrated, but with the money out there, my guess is they will both get 15-17 million a year or more. A starting pitcher that can throw 200 innings and not be terrible, but not be anything special either can easily fetch 11-12-13 million in this market. Imagine what Santana could makes as a free agent, i'd guess 22- 25 million per year. I think once the signings start rolling in, we'll see lots of, i can't believe so and so got that much cash. This article gives a good idea about how much money is in baseball right now.

Yahoo Article

Wanted to add this explosion of salaries also makes guys like Hall,Capuano,Bush etc more valuable than some may think if we did offer any in a trade. With their salaries vs what's out there in free agency, we might underestimate how much of a better option those guys will look to teams vs having to go in free agency and give similar talents 25-30-40 million dollar contracts depending on the player.

When replacement talent is at or below 1 million a year, and pre-arby talent is 500k a year, it makes 15 million a year for an OF that might hit .245/.330/.405 seem like a bit much.