Brewer Fanatic

Thoughts about Hardy at the plate

AJAY

I am having a tough time figuring out what is going on with J.J. Hardy. He seems to hit a lot of balls hard but too many of them are outs. It's good that he is making contact, but they aren't falling in enough.

I also noticed that he almost always seems behind in the count. I think he is too content to take a strike. I would like to see him swing at the first pitch more often. Lots of times it's right down the middle and he lets it go and then gets behind eventually. I am not a professional hitting coach but maybe he needs to make some changes.

Does anyone else have any ideas?

(added tag --1992)

really, JJ is taking the good pitches and swinging at the bad ones. His strikezone has expanded dramatically since April, meaning that he's swinging at lots of pitches out of the zone. We know JJ can hit belt high fastballs, but he hasn't shown an ability to hit the ball hard to right field or to hit breaking pitches.

I agree with AJAY on the fact that JJ hits alot of balls really hard, just directly to fielders. I don't have stats, but it seemed to be alot of the same thing last year before he got injured. Good contact with the ball just hit right at the fielders.

I don't know what can be done about it, but until he starts to "go with the pitch" a bit more, he's not going to be getting that average anywhere near where it was early this year when he was smacking those hip high inside fastballs.

The good news is we have another guy who doesn't seem to care where the pitch is, he'll hit it and get on base.

He needs to start hitting the ball to right field.

He keeps trying to pull those outside pitches and grounding out to the left side.

"I wasted so much time in my life hating Juventus or A.C. Milan that I should have spent hating the Cardinals." ~kalle8