Brewer Fanatic

Where does this system rank now?

With all the callups and this lousy Linebrink trade where does this system rank now in regards to other teams in MLB? Do we still have a highly ranked system with lots of future stars or are we now lacking impact minor league talent? How do guys like Jeffress, Laporta and Brewer project in the future. Its great that we have guys like Braun, Gallardo, and Parra in the majors now but is the system now in major need of guys with high upsides. I thought Inman was that type and Im really upset to see him go. Any thought on where this system stands now?

I'm no expert on minor league baseball, actually not even at the tenderfoot level http://forum.brewerfan.net/images/smilies/embarassed.gif, but this certainly would weaken us a bit....

However, if we keep drafting well, we should be in the top half/top third of systems for the foreseeable future. (We need to be to stay competitive)

Losing minor league talent to graduation hurts the system, but eventually, we'll stop losing our post-arbitration players to free-agency and the compensation picks will help us "re-load"

By virtue of not being "terrible", we won't have a block of top-5, top-10 overall MLB draft picks for awhile, and therefore might not have an "impact" group of players like Hardy, Braun, Hart, Fielder, Yo for another 20-25 years, but there is no reason to think our farm system won't be one of the best run in baseball...

With the graduations of Braun and Gallardo, and the deal to get Linebrink, the top half of the system will definitely be weaker than what its been in recent years.

That doesn't mean there isn't still some fine quality in the system though, as the high picks from the last two drafts are in the bottom half at this point.