Brewer Fanatic

Do you think the Brewers are working on a longer term deal with Corbin Burnes

6 minutes ago, Scooterfletcher said:

I think there is zero chance of this anyway, but the failure to settle before arbitration is the clincher for me.   No chance Mark A pays Burnes close to what Boras would seek in bypassing free agency for his client.

Pretty sure Burnes is with CAA not Boras.

• Like 2

2 hours ago, Robocaller said:

More like 8 months.

No way this team trades any of the big 3 if they are smack dab in the middle of a pennant race again after the heat they took with the Hader trade last trade-deadline.

Looking at this team — I think it’s highly likely they will be in contention all year long, so they will buy and not sell.

Next offseason — unless they get what they want by trade, which is difficult to do because teams hoard their best prospects choosing instead to buy talent in the FA realm, they likely hold and arby them.

The team has the financial flexibility to arby all 3 next offseason and still have the ability to be “opportunistic” in “building around them” one last time.

Of course things will change if the team disappoints prior to this years trade-deadline.

Whether it's the shorter deals with super high AAV like Verlander, Scherzer, Bauer, or the long Gerrit Cole type deals, I think it's fairly clear that the Brewers can't extend Burnes. Or rather they can, but unless there is a significant increase to overall payroll it just makes no sense to do so, as otherwise it takes up such a huge portion of the payroll so as to make building a strong team very difficult, And that's even if Burnes remains as good as he is; if he doesn't, it's even worse. At this point it's just a matter of when he leaves, not if. I'd be interested in looking at what the teams who pursued Rodon/Verlander etc but missed out are looking to offer tbh, but happy to postpone any trade too.