Brewer Fanatic

Ranking the 40 man roster by trade value

* Please don't take this as an endorsement or suggestion that we actually should or should not trade anyone. This is merely an exercise in valuation.

** Going for surplus value here, so contract matters. Equally productive starting pitchers, for instance, would be valued much differently for a 25 year old with 5 years control remaining than a 30 year old with 2 years and $30M remaining on his deal.

*** I just used the 40 man roster. Had to draw the line somewhere.

1: Hader

Is anyone else even really close? Hader checks about every box an organization could want -- cheap, controlled hardthrowing, elite reliever, with the possible bonus for a team to convert him to a starter. It's hard to peg down exactly what the Brewers would be willing to part with him for. I'd speculate that it would take a team with a top 5 prospect in all of baseball plus other pieces, or at least 3 or 4 top 50 pieces.

2: Yelich

You saw what we just gave up for him, so it's reasonable to imagine the return would be among the same lines right now, which was one of the bonus features of trading for Yelich -- he's basically a refundable asset the next 2 years or so if things go awry and shift back to rebuilding mode.

3-7: Knebel, Shaw, Arcia, Anderson, Davies

Here's where things start to get a lot more subjective and I'm sure there will be disagreement. All these players have significant attractions. All are well-controlled and range from very young to prime years. An ask centered around a top 50 or so prospect would not be unreasonable.

8-13: Santana, Woodruff, Jeffress, Peralta, Williams, Phillips