Brewer Fanatic

Tyler Saladino a Brewer [7/5 -- back from injury & in the starting lineup]

JohnBriggs12
Can't believe it hasn't been posted yet but Brewers acquired utility infielder Tyler Saladino from the White Sox for cash and designated Alec Asher who they had claimed a couple days ago. I assume Saladino will be optioned but haven't seen that. Have to wonder if another move is coming. Saladino is a superb defensive player.

• Replies 236
  • Created
  • Last Reply
he was sent to AAA

Posted: July 10, 2014, 12:30 AM

PrinceFielderx1 Said:

If the Brewers don't win the division I should be banned. However, they will.

Last visited: September 03, 2014, 7:10 PM

I have limited knowledge on the guy but feel like he is the right handed version of Eric Sogard with a bit more position versatility and better defense.

In theory, he eliminates the need for both Sogard and Perez on the roster. Keep Aguilar's bat for good, bring up Saladini for defensive reasons... you can cut ties with the other two and being up another reliever.

Brewer Fanatic Contributor

I don't think there is any chance they dump Perez. Counsell and Stearns value versatility, and that is what Perez is. Plus his bat is better than Saladino.

If I were Sogard, I'd be looking over my shoulder, though. He's inching quite close to the end of the 25-man with every pop-up and weak grounder.

I'm not a big Sogard fan, don't get me wrong. But he did just miss two HRs that were like a foot or two foul. If those are fair, his OPS would take a huge jump this early in the season. Not saying that's a reason to keep him on the roster all year, just something to keep in mind when evaluating what he has done (or not done) so far this season.

I don't think either Perez or Sogard is in trouble. I believe this was a straight depth move. If either of those two gets an injury, now they have this guy to bring up and cover them.