Brewer Fanatic

If we were sellers - Breaking down the roster by trade value

I know we have had similar threads in the past, but I figure it was time for an updated one. Please note this is just for fun, I am not advocating being sellers at the moment and realize we are in 1st at the moment. Just analyzing hypothetically, if we sold, what kind of returns we could expect for our MLB players. I categorized them by tier, feel free to agree or disagree, these are obviously subjective. I did not include anyone on the roster who is still for MLB purposes considered a 'prospect'. I did include players imminently returning from the DL.

Tier 1 - Thames, Arcia, Knebel, Anderson

These guys are the cream of the crop for trade value. They may have that value from cheap controllable contracts (Thames), just from the market for relievers (Knebel), or youth and prospect status (Arcia), among other factors. I would estimate the minimum asking price on these players to be either a top 25 prospect, or a top 50+top 100, among other piece(s). Comp trade would be Lucroy.

Tier 2 - Santana, Broxton, Nelson, Shaw, Guerra, Perez

These players are just a notch below the Tier 1 and also highly controllable. They may simply be a bit too unproven yet to be tier 1, or be having somewhat of a high outlier season that keeps the asking price lower. Asking price should include a top 100 plus other piece(s), or similar value. Comp trade could be Will Smith or Tyler Thornburg.

Tier 3 - Davies, Villar, Pina, Barnes, Sogard

These players aren't going to bring back substantial returns, but they could net an interesting prospect or two. A low top 100 is unlikely but not out of the question. I would peg a comp return somewhere between Khris Davis, Adam Lind, and Jason Rogers, however one might rank those.

Tier 4 - Hughes, Aguilar

These players could probably net a lottery ticket or two or low to mid level prospect, comparable to perhaps an Aaron Hill return.

Tier 5 - Drake, Torres, Franklin, Bandy