Brewer Fanatic

Blue Jays designate Danny Valencia for assignment

Per D.J Short of Hardballtalk

Should the Crew go after him? Can play 1st, RF, and LF... Valencia has been very productive in a part-time role this season, batting .296/.331/.506 with seven home runs and 29 RBI over 58 games while mostly playing against left-handed pitching.

A platoon with Lind?

More importantly, he's a 3B by trade (that's what he came up as with the Twins) and it's clear there's no functional long-term plan there yet.

I don't love the guy, but he's hitting better this year than anyone else we've got for 3B (yes, I know Perez's MIL numbers are good, but the I'm thinking of his year overall and his recent tailing off a little bit).

One of the advantages the Brewers have is using their waiver claim position to grab players who teams don't have room for. The Blue Jays, like some oher teams, just added some players and as a result are going to have to 40 man pressure. Valencia is 30 years old, but cheap and can hit a little. Not a bad guy to bring in and fill out the roster. My guess is they'll just go with Perez, Herrera, etc. and try to focus on young, controllable palyers.

30 year olds who aren't blocking anyone definitely are part of rebuilding teams, you have playing to treat as an asset to try and let guys build value for other teams. That said I'd want to be careful and think through the implications because we are trying to see if Domingues and Perez can develop as well.

Valencia is the perfect type of low cost veteran they should look at to fill out their roster and rid themselves of career minor league guys like Herrera and Hector Gomez.

There's no reason to not at least try to put a decent lineup on the field as they await the arrival of the heralded young players.

Perez needs to get an opportunity but there's no reason not to fit a vet in there too. Valencia can play some 3B, platoon some at 2B and 1B.