Brewer Fanatic

All these deferred money contracts....how do you feel?

lcbj68c
K-Rod's signing today contains $4M in deferred money which makes his base salary seem more than swallowable at $3.5M & $5.5M respectively. However, it seems more and more the Brewers are deferring money on their contracts. Braun, K-Rod, & Ramirez, IIRC. While it makes the annual salaries look good, eventually they'll be paying $10M + to guys that aren't even on the club. What's the point of this and do you see it being a problem for future fiscal health of the organization?

I trust Attanasio's financial judgements. The guy didn't become a mega millionaire by making poor decisions. I guarantee that their projected revenue increases allow for these moves. A million dollars today is worth far more than a million in four years. Also these are fairly low numbers being kicked around, at least relatively speaking. These aren't Bobby Bonilla/Mets type deals.

As an accountant I can appreciate the time value of money but also not a big fan of paying an expense for an asset that has already been disposed. Bonilla is an extreme example but deferred expenses can get you in trouble in the real world, especially if revenue starts going in the opposite direction.

As an accountant I can appreciate the time value of money but also not a big fan of paying an expense for an asset that has already been disposed. Bonilla is an extreme example but deferred expenses can get you in trouble in the real world, especially if revenue starts going in the opposite direction.

This. It's built on the assumption that revenues are going to increase, but it is exactly that - an assumption. Many homes were purchased a decade ago on the assumption that prices were going to keep going up. The real question though is how much other teams are doing this; if other teams are and MKE is at the average, then other teams will be in the same position.