Brewer Fanatic

Golf Thread

RobDeer 45

Did a quick search, not sure if there is a golf thread in here but didn't see one. I'm not sure how many golfers are in here but thought we could start a thread for all things golf. Any of you guys belong to a course?

Got a mechanics question that I need help on. Do any of you know any good exercises to train yourself to have a straight back swing? I know my baseball/softball swing has hampered my ability to get this fixed. I'm going to make an effort to correct my swing this year and I believe this is the first main hurdle I have.

I prefer not getting a membership anywhere and just playing random courses throughout the area. I hate being limited to one course.

Disclaimer: I am not a PGA pro...but I do know the swing fairly well. My swing coach (me) has helped me have an average score in low 80's/upper 70's. Regarding the question about your backswing...I always like grabbing 2 clubs or maybe even a sledgehammer and just swing them back slowly (not meant to be at full speed). Its very hard to get off plane when you have all the extra weight. I always like the John Daly approach of starting the backswing by thinking low and slow. Just make sure your the toe of the club is pointing straight up when the shaft is parallel to the ground. You should be able to get it pointing straight up with just a shoulder turn (and maybe a little bit of hands).

If you want...I could probably give you more direction if you posted a video of your swing.

I would recommend having someone kneel behind you on the range, and practice your take-away by slowly starting your swing and having him/her hold their hand out to stop (and hold) the clubhead when it gets to almost waist-high.

This will allow you to be able to get instant feedback to make sure the toe is pointing up and that you took it back correctly.

http://perfectgolfswingreview.net/backswing.htm

I like this one too. http://www.andylambgolf.com/online-lessons/lesson1.php