Brewer Fanatic

Home Improvement Thread

RyDogg66
I own an old home, over 100 years old. In my kitchen I have two giant flourescant light fixtures. My wife wants new fixtures (three pendant lights at each spot). I have no experience with electricity, is this something I can do by myself or do I need to hire someone. If I do need to hire someone, do they need to be an electrician? Or just a handyman type? For clarification, I would be installing a fixture in a place where there is already another fixture, so I would assume I wouldnt need to rewire the entire thing, just connect?

If everything is up to snuff, you'd just turn off the circuit breaker and hook up positive to positive, neutral to neutral, and ground to ground. In a 100 year old house, however, you might find that the wiring might not be up to snuff. I'd start by checking the requirements in the directions that come with the new fixtures.

That’s the only thing Chicago’s good for: to tell people where Wisconsin is.

[align=right]-- Sigmund Snopek[/align]

Ceiling fixtures can be a chore. Some things to be mindful of. . .

Is the new fixture heavy? Someone's got to hold it while the other person makes the electrical connections & mounts it.

Is the existing electrical up to code? Is it grounded? Is there a box holding the wires? Is the box properly installed structurally. . .can it hold the new fixture?

I've done a couple of them over the years, and sometimes it's a 15 minute job, and another time it could take much longer. . .

Hope yours goes smoothly!