Brewer Fanatic

Anyone ever taken a job with direct competitor?

homer
Brewer Fanatic Contributor
I work in the software industry and have been contacted by a direct competitor to interview for a job. Has anyone ever gone through this? I feel a little like I'm stabbing my company in the back if I choose to leave - not to mention I'd be leaving my little group in a bind resource wise.
"Dustin Pedroia doesn't have the strength or bat speed to hit major-league pitching consistently, and he has no power......He probably has a future as a backup infielder if he can stop rolling over to third base and shortstop." Keith Law, 2006

I just actually had an interview with a company which is a direct competitor to mine. The contacted me out of the blue and said they were interested in talking with me.

Personally, I took it as a compliment that they noticed my work and went out of their way to call me. If I were the one fishing for the interview, I'd have felt a little worse about it. Really, you'd be doing yourself a disservice by not at least going to talk with them. At the very least, you can learn a little about how the competition operates. If your current company really wants to keep you, they'll find a way to do it. If they don't, maybe it's time to make a move anyway. They'll kick themselves when you are doing good things for the competition.

In the nuclear industry, there's no real way to move from job to job without going to another competitor. I've been looking around a little bit for jobs at other plants because we have a union vote that would set back my career path about 5-6 years if the union is put in.

I'm looking at moving into a different department or leaving the company all together if we get the union. The only stipulation is that I need to stay at this plant for another 9 months before I would get penalized for my relocation bonus. If I left before then, I would have to forfeit the $3000 reimbursement I received to move from Milwaukee to Raleigh.