Brewer Fanatic

Steve Jobs passes away

adamb100

I'm actually more bummed than I ever thought I would be about Steve's passing. Not since the passing of George Harrison have I felt so blue. Maybe it's the Brewers tank job in game 4 thats helping things.

Thinking about it I realize that I've been using Apple products almost on a daily basis since 1987 when I first played Oregon Trail on an Apple II when I was in the 4th grade. My first career and education was working in printing and computer graphics exclusively on Macs. I did that for 10 years. My first email and exposure to the internet was on a Mac. I've owned 6 computers in the past 20 years, all Macs. I'm typing this post on my 5 year old Macbook that just won't die. Back in the shop my technicians are being entertained with my 160GB iPod that I've had for over 4 years now. I have my entire CD collection on it (over 20,000 songs) and there is 60GB left for more. I'm on my second iPhone now and it's great because it does everything my laptop does and more. Whenever I travel I don't need to bring along a laptop, camera, map, notes, CDs, etc.

Looking at it now, I am stunned at the impact Apple's products have had on people's lives without them probably fully realizing it. Especially in the last 10 years. I know very little about Steve Jobs personally and what his true roles were with Apple and their innovations. But he was the face of the company that have changed and affected lives of millions of people for better or for worse.

A very important figure of our time is gone. RIP

On the day of the iPhone announcement, pundits criticized the event as lacking "panache." It was very low key, and it was held in a small auditorium on Apple's campus rather than in a larger venue off site. I think it's now apparent that the planners knew that Steve's passing was imminent and purposely kept things simple.