Brewer Fanatic

Ozzie Guillen traded to the Marlins?

endaround

I don't even know what that means....

Anyway, Guillen was pouting that the White Sox wouldn't give him an extension past 2012 and so was going to walk out after this season. So the Sox have decided to trade him to the Marlins in exchange for two minor league players. And he's going to manage the Marlins, maybe, I guess.

Lou Piniella was traded for Randy Winn. (SEA-TB).

And during the Charlie Finley selloff of Oakland A's players, they traded Manager Chuck Tanner to the Pirates for Manny Sanguillen.

I can't see how a loose cannon like Ozzie is going to survive under the control of that Marlins front office. That already looks like trouble.

Community Moderator

As a South Florida resident I am quite thrilled with this move. This will be excellent for the franchise, since he's not going to put up with any garbage from the ownership.

I can see why they went for this move though. The Marlins are moving from the suburbs to Little Havana, and they are changing their target audience to focus on the Spanish-speaking majority. They have some money to spend and they need to make a splash.

Ultimately, we all know how this is going to end, but it will be a fun ride to see how long Loria can tolerate him.

Guillen has been given the option to not manage the White Sox in 2012, but the White Sox control his rights. If another team, the Marlins want him to manage in 2012, they need to give up something.

The White Sox wouldn't gain anything from just firing Guillen, as they would still be obligated to pay him.

In the case of trades involving managers, all parties have to agree. Doug Melvin couldn't simply offer up Roenicke to net himself a shortstop.