Brewer Fanatic

Moving to Southwest Missouri

I've accepted a promotion that will definitely help my career, but unfortunately takes me and my family away from where we currently live (Green Bay). I'm an accountant for a cheese company headquartered here, but wanted to gain cost accounting experience at a plant, which takes me to to Southwest Missouri (specifically Carthage, near Joplin and about 60 miles west of Springfield):

http://www.bestplaces.net/images/city/carthage_mo.gif

There are a few things I'm hoping the greater brewerfan family can help out with for suggestions. We have a 6 month old son, so we don't yet have to deal with schools and it's probable that this move may only be for 2-3 years before coming back:

Cellphones - I've been with Cellcom since college (10 years ago), but since I will be traveling for work between WI and MO frequently and that Cellcom is a regional carrier, I think I would rather go with a national carrier. Does anyone have suggestions on what is best (AT&T, Verizon) and what they typically pay for two lines with a national calling plan, and maybe a data package?
Internet/Cable - probably a shot in the dark since I doubt anyone here currently lives in this area.
Dish/DirecTV - I know this has been rehashed several times over the years, but I'm wondering what would be best for watching the Packers and Brewers. I'm typically frugal and currently don't have cable/satellite, but not being able to watch the Packers would be crazy so I'll have to pony up.
Housing - Anything about houses in that area of the country to look out for? We were already warned about the prevalence of termites in the area.