Brewer Fanatic

Garza traded to the Cubs; Archer, Guyer, Chirinos, Lee, Fuld to Tampa

wOOgiE22

• Replies 64
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Late rumor that more than Garza may be going back to Cubbies.

SI_JonHeyman Jon Heyman

archer and lee are better players going to #rays in garza deal. as many as 8 players involved. could be 5 going to rays for 3

I don't like this one bit. I don't know if it puts the Cubs at the same level as the Cardinals or Reds but it certainly puts them in the range where a little luck could have them in the division race.

This just makes it more of a 4 team race than a 3 team race and may actually reduce the number of wins needed to capture the division. The Brewers, Reds and Cards are still all stronger in the middle of the lineup than the Cubs and still should rate an edge.

I am no prospect-nik, so could anybody tell me how Archer, Lee, Guyer, Chirinos, and Fuld compare to the 5 guys we gave up this year? From my limited reading in the last 5 minutes I get the impression that Archer is probably a better prospect than Odorizzi or Jeffress, Lee~Escobar, Guyer~Cain and Lawrie is the best prospect of the ten. We got 4 years of likely outstanding pitching while the Cubs get 3 years of very good pitching. Seems to be pretty even to me.

Community Moderator

This will fire up the Cubs' fan base and bring them into the 2011 NL Central contenders discussion. Their starting pitching was already pretty good toward the end of last year and now they add a 200 innings guy on top of that. They get Garza for 3 years which helps set them up for a big run in 2013 after the Brewers lose Fielder, Greinke, and possibly Weeks.

Adding another quality starter to the division certainly isn't good for the Brewers, but it is good overall for the NL Central. How about the Pirates now--will they lose 110-115 games next year with all the new talent in the division?