Brewer Fanatic

Stay-at-home parenting?

Beerambassador

Any stay-at-home dads/moms here? I was an English major in college, so when people asked me what I wanted to do for a living, I was always said "Be a stay-at-home dad." I was only partially kidding. I've got two boys, 2 years and 5 months, and I always felt like my whole check was going towards daycare. Well, I sat down with my wife, crunched the numbers and low and behold, it IS all going to daycare.

We're at a point where it would make financial sense for me to do this, and if I worked part time a few evenings a week, we'd be better off financially than we are now. So I have to weigh the pluses and negatives and make a decision. Basically, I don't dislike my job - but I'm getting bored with it and would like to do something different. I do feel like my kids (especially my two-year old) get a lot out of daycare. My 5 month old is very fussy, which makes him tough to handle, but my past experience says that should start improving in the coming months.

But I guess I'm wondering, is anyone here a stay-at-home parent? What do you like about it? What do you dislike? Any tips? Encouragement? Am I nuts for leaving a stable job in a down economy?

My wife is part time and I have a full time job for just the reason that you stated. Daycare is so expensive that if she got a full time job most if not all the money would go to daycare. Unfortunately because of my hours and her working weekends we hardly get to see each other.

Fan is short for fanatic.

I blame Wang.

I'm a stay-at-home dad and have been for more than two years now. My kids are actually almost the same ages as yours (one's two and a half and the other 5 1/2 months).

It can be really enjoyable. When you're kids are having a good day it's easier than a good day at work. It can be really frustrating and trying though when the kids are crabby.