Brewer Fanatic

Where'd you go to college? Major? Did you work?

TracyThom

I recently discovered that Hawing and I went to the same college. UW-Superior of all places. I went to Superior because, well to be perfectly honest, they accepted me. I'm not dumb, I just never tried in high school. I think I did homework once during my 4 years of high school.

I majored in criminal justice. I got my bachelor's degree in 3 1/2 years, with no summer school. My parents were about zero help financially, so I was putting myself through. It was a benefit that my folks were so poor because I received a large amount of grants. However, I still had my share of loans, so I was taking anywhere between 18-20 credits per semester towards the end to finish early.

I still had to work to pay my rent. I had lots of jobs, including every college student's worst fear: Cafeteria boy. Good thing I was dating my soon to be wife during college because cafeteria boy is everyone's friend, but no girl wants to date cafeteria boy. I also had the easiest job in the world, weight room attendant. I also was a campus tour guide (always made sure to show off the picture of Arnold Schwarzenegger on the UWS gymnastics team), a manager at the hockey arena, and I worked for my advisor. Hey Mon! I gotta go to work.

• Replies 67
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Whitewater class of 85 (though I should have graduated in 84--poor work ethic).

I worked at the Brookfield Marriott (now Sheraton) for pretty much the duration on weekends and during summers, though for one summer I umpired local youth league baseball with Brookfield Park & Rec Department.

I was a decent umpire on the bases, but behind the plate, I think in retrospect that I was very pitcher friendly, with lots of called third strikes, to the aghast and muttering of many Brookfield youth.