Brewer Fanatic

How much money comes off the books this offseason?

I know we lose Hall and Suppan contracts. Who else is a FA or a bad contract we lose? Hawkins? Hoffman?

Fielder....if kept might get ?

Hart ...if kept might get?

Who else is Arby eligible that could have big jumps? Weeks? McGhee?

Gallardo and Braun get typical bumps as well.

My greater question is, what will be our projected net available cash if the above happens?

If this is laid out somewhere else please just direct me there....I thought I saw it somewhere.

Cot's is the best baseball contract site: http://mlbcontracts.blogs...1/milwaukee-brewers.html

I'm no expert on arbitration, but if the Brewers bring everybody that is currently under contract for next year or in arbitration, I see the Brewers at about $60M for next year. That is imprecise, I could easily be off a few mil.

So if the upper limit of payroll is around $90M, the Brewers could have up to $30M to spend this offseason, even keeping Prince and Hart. But there's not that much in pitching that will be available. I think most people would assume Cliff Lee goes to the Yankees. After that there is Javy Vazquez and Ted Lilly. Each of them could easily get 3-4 years at $10-15Mil. Or the Brewers could try to trade offense and sign offense with Werth or other options.

I didn't realize that they had so much flexibility. If they trade Fielder and Hart for minor league or minimum guys they are around $30 million if they fill the roster with minimum guys. Of course they will have to pay Weeks through arby or an extension and get a couple of starting pitchers.

Wow. Imagine..... if they get rid of more dead weight and trade Prince and Hart for prospects, they will have more than enough money to bid against themselves for another quality 'veteran' arm like Lilly, and they still can line up to pay Adam Dunn in excess of $15 million per.

From Brewerfan's salary page (and a couple from memory), the salaries we're losing:

Suppan $12.5MM