Brewer Fanatic

Buyer Beware on this "Aaron Gamer"

JimH5

Despite this eBay seller's high rating, I would offer suggest a heaping helping of caveat emptor for any who would be interested in this 1976 Aaron jersey.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Vintage-Milwaukee-Brewers-Hank-Aaron-Game-Used-Jersey_W0QQitemZ380222950498QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUS_Baseball_Fan_Shop?hash=item58870dcc62

I'm not an authenticator by training or profession, but the numerals look too close to the letters on the front. They also appear to be too small, and in the wrong font on the front and rear.

Not sure about the 1976s, but many jerseys from that era had player identification tags or chain stitching with the player's name.

Plus, a real Aaron would be offered in Mears, Heritage, Grey Flannel, or another big house--with full authentication.

It may be real, and I may be passing up on a great buying opportunity--but I'll be fine with staying away.

Let me just say I am NOT an expert in Hank Aaron jerseys.

Buying old jerseys is always hard. Always do your homework - especially with Hank Aaron and most especially with any Aaron jersey produced by McAuliffe, like the one in the auction listed above. In 1976 the Brewers -at least officially- used two different manufactures for their jerseys, Wilson and Sand Knit. Both produced home jerseys and Sand Knit did "all" of the road jerseys.

This is where it gets fun. There are several other companies - including McAuliffe - that claim to have provided Aaron with both home and road jerseys in 1976. No one really knows for sure, but many people look at McAuliffe Aaron jerseys as junk or garbage. However, to add to the confusion, Aaron himself has donated "game used" McAuliffe jerseys to museums that do not match the "official" jerseys the rest of the Brewers wore. A jersey on display at the Smithsonian is a perfect example.