Brewer Fanatic

Learn to Cheer, Milwaukee!

rickh150

Over the past few years, I have been amazed at the sheer number of fans at Miller Park. For the smallest market in MLB, we have a very nice following. Now, after a great first half of the season, hopes are high and the fair weather fan is coming out to more and more games. Yet, what bothers me at some games is the lack of common baseball knowledge and cheering knowledge, in general. Although I'm no expert on the topic of baseball cheering etiquette, some common things happen over and over again that make me shake my head:

1. The Wave- Since when is the wave done when your team is behind? Or when there is a tense moment in a close game with runners on and a full count? The Wave is done when the home team is, first of all, winning. If the Brewers are losing by 4, why are we so happy? Second, the Wave should be done during a less tense portion of the game, preferably with a big lead. There are some times that fans actually want to watch the game, and maybe even stand and clap, instead of waiting for the Wave to come by.

2. Make Noise Sign- Whoever runs that sign at Miller Park should be educated. Never put the Make Noise sign on when our batter is down 0-2 in the count, or other useless times of the game. Baseball people are able to sense big moments in the game- runners on, 3-2 pitch of a tight game, or 2 strikes on a batter with 2 outs in the 7th or 8th of a close game. Get the crowd going with the Make Noise sign then, or with some clap sounds- preferably the slow clap- at KEY moments. The Brewers need to find someone in house who has a feel for the game to run the inning visual/sound effects.