Brewer Fanatic

What is wrong with broadcaster/journalists of sports?

If this is in the wrong forum, or whatever, then please move it.

I just completed the Harold Reynolds blog post on why he think OPS is a flawed statistic. I, being just as confused as I am sure many of you were, decided that this would be a great time to discuss how bad the baseball media has gotten.

I am currently studying to become a broadcaster at UWM. I am in my final year, and I am completely dumbfounded at some of the stuff I see on a daily basis.

I have been a Brewers fan for my entire life, but like to look at the team objectively. I hear more said in the national media about Craig Counsell and Jason Kendall than I ever do about the key parts of this team. So many different times I have heard references about Counsell/Kendall being professional hitters, and someone that just knows what they are doing out there. Now I am not questioning their understanding of the game, but are they really a bigger part of this team than say a Mike Cameron? No, of course not. The fact of the matter is that for some reason people like Craig/Jason will receive more credit than they are probably due. What does the term "professional hitter" mean anyway? Aren't all of these guys professional?