Brewer Fanatic

Hilarious Kansas City Royals article

Invader3K

Community Moderator

Some of those stories are really sad but really funny at the same time.

I imagine we could get together and make a list of similar Brewers moments...I'm thinking of ones that involve Chuckie Carr, Jose Hernandez, Alex Sanchez, Joe Winklesas, etc. At least our story has a happy ending.

That was one of the most enjoyable stories that I've read in a long time. It reminds me of a story in my own coaching experience. I've been a HS baseball coach for 29 years so I have many but this one might be the best. We had the bases loaded with one out. My batter hit a deep fly ball to right field. I had the runners on 2nd and 3rd tagging up and the runner on first correctly went halfway. When the right fielder caught the ball I yelled go. Unfortunately, the runner on first panicked and ran to second. Fortunately, no one noticed. However, the runner now on second, knew he had done wrong. When the pitcher came set, he tried to steal first base from second. Needless to say, he was thrown out. How many coaches can say that they had a runner thrown out legally trying to "steal" first?

Brewer Fanatic Contributor
Needless to say, he was thrown out. How many coaches can say that they had a runner thrown out legally trying to "steal" first?
Ok, I need a rule clarification here... If he had stayed on 2nd and someone got a hit/walk/HBP/whatever, is it automatically out when a runner reaches 1st? If he steals 3rd and is driven in by a sac fly (i.e. no one reaches 1st), can he score without tagging up (assuming the ump realized he didn't tag up)?

Some of those stories are really sad but really funny at the same time.

I imagine we could get together and make a list of similar Brewers moments...I'm thinking of ones that involve Chuckie Carr, Jose Hernandez, Alex Sanchez, Joe Winklesas, etc. At least our story has a happy ending.

One of my favorites is the game Alex Sanchez was thrown out for the cycle.