Brewer Fanatic

Wisconsin College Baseball slowly dying

Madison, River Falls and Eau Claire are already without teams and now UW-La Crosse has announced it is pulling the plug on its college program. This is really unfortunate as it will have an affect on the remaining WIAC teams, such as Whitewater, Oshkosh and Point.

Not a good trend.

The long Wisconsin winters (which necessitate more maintenance and traveling) coupled with a budget crunch was apparently the downfall. Granted, all the state institutions are facing the same obstacles here, but baseball at UW-L has always been more of a fringe sport, never reaching the levels of football or track in either interest or prestige. I graduated from there in '04 and the mere thought of attending a game never crossed my mind. It's a shame it's gone, but will 99.9% of the student body in La Crosse even notice?

I'd assume Whitewater & Oshkosh would hold attach a higher priority to baseball, perhaps at the expense of somewhere else in the budget, due to their relatively successful track record. The others, I have no idea.

Stupid public schools. I teach in a public school district in Arizona, and I see the same idiocy out here. The Private schools cannot exist without donations, the private sector's support, and charging full tuition. They understand that the revenue pie can always increase in order to fix funding shortfalls.

Yet public schools--including my district and the Wisconsin schools--are viewing the revenue pie as limited, and deciding to cut rather than seek to increase the pie. In my district, they have virtually no system in place for adding donations. Yet private schools live off of that in order to subsidize their education costs. In effect, public schools are like many (not all) welfare recipients. They complain when money isn't there, but don't do much to increase their own opportunities.

Okay, there's my rant, given my 6.2% paycut this year