Brewer Fanatic

The Old Republic

pitchleague

I spent so much money on Star Wars over the years, what's another $60? http://forum.brewerfan.net/images/smilies/smile.gif Though I've been saying that since 2000... guess I'm a nerd.

"You can discover more about a person in an hour of play than in a year of conversation."

- Plato

"Wise men talk because they have something to say; fools, because they have to say something."

- Plato

Probably going to be a cool game. It is a MMORPG which probably means a monthly fee, which means a big no for me.

Why? Think about this if you go out to the movies once a month how much do you pay for everything? Lets say it is a dinner and a movie. You pay about $30 for dinner (being very conservative here on that price) then you go to the movies and since it is a matinee (did I spell that right) it will cost about $9 a ticket. Lets say you are paying for this two tickets at $18 plus popcorn which is about $5 plus two sodas at $10. So far you have paid $63 for about five hours of entertainment.

Now lets say that MMORPG you have been paying $15 a month for you play once a week for 4 hours. That is 16 hours a month for $15 while going to the movies and dinner costs you about $60 for about 5 hours of entertainment. 60/5 = $12 per hour of fun 15/16 = $0.94 per hour of fun. MMORPG's are cheaper than dinner and a movie. I just don't know why people are against paying a subscription to play a game that is always improving and changing. You get a different experience almost all the time. It is cheaper than renting a couple of movies a month with more entertainment hours per dollar.

I pay 50 cents a day for World of Warcraft ($15/mo), money very well spent considering how addicted to the game I am and how much time I spend on it. I see no problem at all with game subscription fees, especially since as noted above they are constantly updated and new content is added on a regular basis.