Brewer Fanatic

Got a small business but no website / IT?

I've been thinking about expanding my professional horizons a bit, and taking on some new work. A little background on me... I work full-time as a software developer (mostly websites, both private and public), specializing in Microsoft (.NET) and Java (J2EE or Grails) development. My "wheelhouse" is websites for small businesses, end-to-end (meaning from the front end all the way to the database and integration with other software packages).

I figure that we have a pretty wide audience here, so perhaps you've been looking to get your feet wet with an internet presence but have no idea how to get started, and don't want to get ripped off by the proverbial "my friend knows a guy" guy http://forum.brewerfan.net/images/smilies/smile.gif. You would be surprised at the revenue you could generate or the money you could save by automating manual processes.

Give me a shout if you're interested.... Here if you want an open discussion, PM me, or email me at webmaster@brewerfan.net ... Even if you think custom web development or system integration is completely out of your price range, I'll at least be able to give you a idea of what you might be able to do, and what you'd be dealing with price-wise. I'm currently looking to build up my portfolio a bit, so my rates are currently negotiable and will more than likely be very competitive.

I don't have any work for you, but do have a suggestion. If you have a background in java then look into building some Blackberry apps, even if you just do it on your own to get your feet wet. I'm half way through our site's first blackberry app and can see how the smartphone media has a lot of potential for businesses.

The need for Blackberry/iPhone/smartphone developers is going to increase mightily in the next year.