Brewer Fanatic

Housing suggestions around Milwaukee?

JumpinMacFlash

Five months after graduating, I finally was offered a job and it's in the Milwaukee area. I have a couple weeks to find a place to live and I was wondering if anyone here had any good ideas or suggestions. I've been browsing Craigslist, Rent.com. and all those good site, but I'm still not sure. I'm not from Milwaukee and I don't know if any areas are better to live in than others. My fiance is from Sussex, and she suggested living in Menomonee Falls, Germantown, or Butler, but staying away from West Allis.

I'm starting completely from scratch and am open to any help.

I have no direct knowledge of Milwaukee, but rent.com has worked for me, while craigslist is the wild west of online classifieds. Don't trust anyone on craigslist and don't assume anything's a sure thing until you have it in writing. Still, there are great deals there, you just have to be a skeptic.

I live in the Carroll College area, and am pretty familiar with Waukesha. The area I live in is pretty nice, but a tad pricey (in retrospect, I might have made a slightly different housing situation). But, as a whole, even the "bad" parts of Waukesha are extremely safe, and probably very reasonable. Not very far from the freeway, and close to Brookfield, which is great for finding things to do.