Brewer Fanatic

building home...mortgage finance question for expert

DHonks

Hey all, I was wondering if anyone was in the mortgage/finance/home sales business and could give me some advice. I'm building a home and wanted advice as to whether to pay for it or get a bank/mortgage company involved.

bump..okay, not just experts, but I'm looking for advice from homeowners. I have the opportunity to add a home. I have cash set aside. If possible, should I try to pay for it in cash (and avoid interest payments) or carry a mortgage (adds a tax deduction). My thought is that if I have the unique possibility of paying cash, I should. I theorize most have a mortgage because they don't have that opportunity.

So my issue is the cost-benefit of paying higher taxes vs paying interest to a bank/lender. thoughts?

I'm not an expert by any means, but just because you have the money to pay for the house doesn't mean you should necessarily do it. Considering you have enough money available, one option would be to take out the mortgage and invest the rest of the money that you would have spent on the house. It depends on what kind of return you could get, how long you would be willing to leave it invested, etc.

If you can figure out what % down payment you would want to do, what the interest payments would be, then you could decide if you'd be able to find an investment that could possibly cover that interest payments and in the end leave you with more money.

It's been a little while since I had a real estate class, but if you think about buying (for example) a $200,000 house, fully paid for, it would appreciate at say 4% a year (maybe not right now though with the way things are). Or your other option would be to put $50,000 down on the house and invest the other $150,000 in something else that could possibly return at a higher rate, while your house is still appreciating as well.