Brewer Fanatic

Help me pick a movie

pogokat
I am a high school English Teacher, and I'm currently teaching a Contemporary Literature class. We are finishing up The Road by Cormac McCarthy and I'd like to show the students a movie with a similar thme. Here's the requirements: The movie must be rated Pg-13 or less and I need to be able to get it at bestbuy or netflix. other than that, fire away

Brewer Fanatic Contributor
I would say Road to Perdition but that's rated R. I'll think about it some more.
"Dustin Pedroia doesn't have the strength or bat speed to hit major-league pitching consistently, and he has no power......He probably has a future as a backup infielder if he can stop rolling over to third base and shortstop." Keith Law, 2006

"The Stand" was a mini-series adapted by Stephen King, and has a post-apocalyptic theme. It was made for TV, so you should be safe as far as ratings go. Only problem is that is runs like 6 hours, so it might be longer than what you're looking for. If you have that kind of time to spare with the class, it might be cool. I'm sure your class wouldn't mind being able to watch a movie every day for a week plus. hahaha.

wikipedia list of post-apocalyptic movies

Most of the movies that I know of that deal with post-apocalyptic are R rated movies. You could always go with Waterworld (not my favorite) Mad Max, The Ultimate Warrior, and the Postman are some of my favorites. But all are R rated movies. Waterworld is the only one that I know of is PG-13 and I believe is 2.5 hours at the longest.

I don't know, it's hard to think of a good movie with a similar plot to "The Road". Too bad the movie isn't out yet.

The only thing I can think of is to use a war movie like Apocalypse Now or a western like High Plains Drifter because those often have a similar feeling of desperation. Both of those are rated R though.