Brewer Fanatic

Career change/alter/update...

cooprules

Thought I would ask this here. You all seem like fine, outstanding, young men and women. I'm trying to prepare for a job change, even though I hope it doesn't happen.

I am currently in the digital prepress field. I started in 1994 when this was to be the "future". Well, work seems to be dying out as most companies that even print anything anymore do their work in-house. In other words, I have no idea what to do. I currently have a job I love at a company I love but the work is dying out and we've been laying off people, and I may be next.

I work in Photoshop daily. I consider myself very proficient at doing anything using it. I'm also familiar with most of the other graphic apps as well (Illustrator, Indesign, Quark, etc.)

I would seem to fit a design type job but I'm not a designer by trade. I do more like production art and color correction. Someone tells me what to put where and I make it happen. You want it green I'll make it green, red I'll make it red. I'm not sure I'd be good at coming up with something myself.

I was thinking about getting into Web development but am not sure how much education I would need. I've seen many online programs but I have no idea how they work or if they are even worth anything. I think online courses would be my only option. I'd be willing to build off the knowledge I have but I'm not sure what direction to go. I'm not exactly a young go-getter anymore.

Anyone with any knowledge in this area? I know some are in the graphic design field.

Thanks.

Brewer Fanatic Contributor
I've been looking at web design too. Look into your local community college - most probably have continuing education with certificates in some kind of web design program. Much cheaper than going back to school full time.