Brewer Fanatic

Defrosting meat safety question

HonoluluBrew

Last night around 9pm I put some vacuum sealed, frozen wild duck breasts in a sink full of cold water to defrost. I fell asleep and woke up at 6am to find the water gone and the birds completely defrosted.

Does anyone know if they are safe to cook now? I feel like they should be fine... Let me know if I run the risk of death.

I think they would be okay...people often just leave out frozen chicken breasts on the counter (or, at least my mom did) while they are at work during the day, and would cook them when they got home. That's about the same 8 or 9 hours that you had them sitting for. But, hopefully you put them back in the fridge when you got up this morning? I dunno, I'm no expert, but I'd say they are okay....unless wild duck is that much different than chicken.

The more important question is....where the heck did the water go? Hopefully you just didn't put the drain in tight, and it's not some crazy dog (or roommate) you have wandering around drinking water from the sink.

By the way, this reminds me, did anyone see the mexican restaurant Kitchen Nightmares last night? That garbage can full of refried beans was awesome.

Yeah, I threw them right in the fridge this morning.

The more important question is....where the heck did the water go? Hopefully you just didn't put the drain in tight, and it's not some crazy dog (or roommate) you have wandering around drinking water from the sink.

I think the drain just doesn't fully seal the bottom of the sink. I'm marinating them to cook Sunday morning for a Packer tailgate...I just don't want to make anyone sick.

In the future, you should always defrost frozen meat in the refrigerator if it's going to be out for more than a few hours. Most food safety people wouldn't recommend defrosting something on the counter all day like a lot of our parents did.

This link from the USDA makes me think your food might be a little suspect.