Brewer Fanatic

what can we expect from Dave Bush in 2009 and beyond?

BREWCREW5

I think we can expect about a 4.5 ERA and durability to go about 200 innings. I wouldn't expect him to keep the really low WHIP and a better than career ERA like he did last year because of this:

http://www.fangraphs.com/graphs/4635_P_season_full_7_20080930.png

Considering that his k:bb and k/9 rates are going down a little bit, about a 4.5 ERA sounds right.

Can I still predict a Carpenter-like ascension to greatness? I want to believe.

I've been believing since 2006 my man. I have big expectations for him next year. I feel like he was our 2nd best pitcher behind CC down the stretch last year so I hope he can carry that over to '09. If we're going to be competitive, we're going to need the good Dave Bush to show up consistently.

"I wish him the best. I hope he finds peace and happiness in his life and is able to enjoy his life. I wish him the best." - Ryan Braun on Kirk Gibson 6/17/14

I think we can expect about a 4.5 ERA and durability to go about 200 innings. I wouldn't expect him to keep the really low WHIP and a better than career ERA like he did last year because of this:
I don't understand this statement. Based on your graph, he had a better than league average BABIP in four of the last five seasons, with 2007 being the lone year above the average. Looks like a fine #3 man in a rotation. I would expect him to have a decent WHIP and ERA. Maybe not Carpenter-good, but decent enough for our rotation.

- - - - - - - - -

P.I.T.C.H. LEAGUE CHAMPION 1989, 1996, 1999, 2000, 2006, 2007, 2011 (finally won another one)

I don't understand this statement. Based on your graph, he had a better than league average BABIP in four of the last five seasons, with 2007 being the lone year above the average. Looks like a fine #3 man in a rotation. I would expect him to have a decent WHIP and ERA. Maybe not Carpenter-good, but decent enough for our rotation.

Bush's career ERA is 4.45