Brewer Fanatic

Washington Mutual Collapses

PeaveyFury

• Replies 92
  • Created
  • Last Reply

the career i'm studying for has the option to move anywhere in the world. once i thought it would be a fun option. now i'm wondering if it might almost become necessary just to find a job opening.

i'm really getting pretty nervous about what the state of things might be like a couple years from now.

Brewer Fanatic Contributor
Wamu's collapse has been rumored for a few weeks.
"Dustin Pedroia doesn't have the strength or bat speed to hit major-league pitching consistently, and he has no power......He probably has a future as a backup infielder if he can stop rolling over to third base and shortstop." Keith Law, 2006

I work at a smaller regional bank and people are absolutely freaking out about their money. We have been fielding a ton of calls. We are literally in no danger at all (Virtually no exposure to Sub Prime) but it doens't stop people from panicking. For the most part investment banks have been failing, not your standard bank.

Plus if you really are worried about your bank you can go to FDIC.GOV to check your banks latest financial statements. Just check their capital and liquidity levels.

Brewer Fanatic Contributor
question abotu FDIC: is it insure per account/per bank or in total? So if I have $300K and split it equally between three banks I'm covered in the event of a bank failure right? Not that I have $300K floating around - just curious.
"Dustin Pedroia doesn't have the strength or bat speed to hit major-league pitching consistently, and he has no power......He probably has a future as a backup infielder if he can stop rolling over to third base and shortstop." Keith Law, 2006