Brewer Fanatic

Kendall's (Lack of) Power

OOOverbay

This topic is not meant to flame Kendall. For the record, I have been pleased with what Kendall brings to this team defensively and I appreciate his ability to take a walk, but you can put me in the category of those who believe Rivera should be getting more starts than he has been.

Anyway, this got me thinking... why does Kendall have absolutely no power? When I was watching him bat the obvious answer seemed to be that he leans forward which would greatly diminish generating energy from his legs, but I am not a mechanics guy and don't know if that is the reason (I only played 3 years of little league). Might he be sacrificing power in order to make better contact?

Would someone here with some experience explain this to me please...

I just dont understand why when you are down by two in the bottom of the 9th, why Yost would let him hit with a runner on over Branyan, Rivera, or Kapler. I think I can hit a baseball farther than Kendall can. I'm not bashing Kendall though, he plays great defense and manages the staff extremely well. And you can't be too greedy from the catcher position as theres only so many great hitting AND fielding catchers out there.

But I agree, he has no power at all. I think its amazing that the guy has managed 72 homers in his career.

To me, Kendall is the most frustrating player to watch offensively besides maybe Cam. IMHO, a big leaguer that hits for the "power" Kendall does, should hit AT LEAST 290-300 probably over that. Given Kendall's amazing play calling and improved defense behind the plate, I would think Kendall should hit 260-270 and I could live with it. This 240ish (dont know what hes down to these days for sure) average is a terrible black hole. He is basically Cam, without the power batting average wise. Rivera has got to play more.

IMHO, a big leaguer that hits for the "power" Kendall does, should hit AT LEAST 290-300 probably over that.