Brewer Fanatic

Slight chest pain?

sbrylski

I'm a doctor hater, as in I generally stay away whenever possible. I want to make sure I need his services before I go in.

Anyway, why not check BF.net first?

Basically, I get very light chest pain in the same general area: left side of chest, just below the pectoral. Just kind of a light dull pain that goes in and out that's barely bothersome. Usually last for about 5 minutes, then just goes away. I think the first time I remember getting it was about a year or so ago, and very infrequently. But this summer I've felt it every third/fourth day or so, sometimes twice a day.

It sounds bad probably, but I want to stress that its pretty light pain. (Say, a 1/2 on a scale of 1 to 10) Anywhere other than chest, bah I don't think twice about it.

Thoughts?

Yeah, gas or muscle strain even. My work load in the summer gets much more physical. (Framing and construction verse term papers.)

Checking WebMD, simple muscle strain or pulmonary embolism at the worst (small blood clot near/in lung, treated with blood thinner medication). The symptoms of PE actually sound closer to something I had in high school (sudden shortness of breath, sharp pain when you take a deep breath) which went away after a week, which I assume was a rib or deeper bruise or something. I don't have either of that right now, the light pain is independent of anything I do.

You could have a pleurisy. I was having similiar symptons and ended up having to go to the ER to get it checked out. They ran a full battery of tests on me (x-ray, blood tests, EKG reading) and determined I basically just had an irritation of the lung lining (pleurisy). Basically they just prescribed ibuprofren for it, and it's basically gone away almost completely now, but it took several weeks.
The Paul Molitor Statue at Miller Park: http://www.facebook.com/paulmolitorstatue