Brewer Fanatic

Web Design

homer
Brewer Fanatic Contributor

If one were inclined to try and pursue a job in web design and one did not really want to go back to school, what would be the best way to go about doing it? What are the basic software packages, languages a web designer should be familiar with?

My friend Taint McFadden thanks you in advance.

"Dustin Pedroia doesn't have the strength or bat speed to hit major-league pitching consistently, and he has no power......He probably has a future as a backup infielder if he can stop rolling over to third base and shortstop." Keith Law, 2006

I'd probably look into taking a class at a local tech school. Once I decided to shift careers, I took a few classes at MATC and found a job I love. Cost is low, plus the feedback and resume-worthy experience was worth it, at least for me. Also, most places will offer courses online, so if you have an odd work schedule, you can still do it.

I am not a professional, but I have done some web-programming in my spare time. This is an imperfect list, so anybody can feel free to add to it.

Languages : HTML, Java, Flash. Probably want a basic knowledge of C++ and maybe Visual Basic

Programs : The entire macromedia studio (most notably Dreamweaver and Flash), and Adobe Photoshop. There are countless other programs, but you can do just about anything you need to with proper knowledge of these.