Brewer Fanatic

Advice from BF Net Teachers

UtilityInfielder

Hey, I don't post on here often (I usually read but don't post, I'm not huge into fan boards) but I wanted to reach out to all the teachers at bf.net for some adivce. I am a graduate of UW-Madison's teacher education program in high school/middle school Social Studies, I graduated in December and got a semester long contracted teaching job in January with the Green Bay school district. That job was filled by a regular contract employee and I got the ugly axe. I wanted to know if any teachers on bf.net have any advice on how to find a teaching job? Is there something special that I should be showing school districts in my application? I've already put in over a 100 applications this summer and have only gotten 3 interviews (2 for jobs that are less than 50%). Even though I've only had a little bit of experience, I think (and have heard from administrators, students, and parents) that I am a very good teacher and I love teaching, I really can't see myself doing anything else (besides my dream job of playing 1st base for the Brewers). This has led to a very frustrating and depressing summer for me as I sift through rejection letters while working 3 part time jobs to make ends meet. I thank you for your time, consideration, and advice in advance.

Moose

Moose

I'm not a teacher, and this is somewhat off the beaten path...but I wonder if there isn't something else you are qualified in that would enhance your resume? It looks as if you like softball/baseball, so perhaps you should list that you may also be interested in coaching? It seems a lot of schools would be looking for individuals who could serve those dual purposes.