Brewer Fanatic

Broadcasting Rules Questions

What is the maximum amount of updates a non-game station can do? X per hour? For example, how often could 1250 WSSP give score updates on a game thats going on? They very well can't watch the game on TV and give play by play, so where is the line?

I am certain there is a law on this, curious if anyone knows.

Beyond the fact that you can't do play by play, I don't know if there are any rules. I'm not a professional, just my memory. I don't think stations would really want to give a lot of updates, after all, if you wanted to listen to the game, you would listen to the game. But they are presumably allowed to give updates for events like scoring, injuries, records, brawls, etc after the event occurs.

I'm not sure there is a law against giving a lot of updates. When I used to watch Mike & The Mad Dog on YES, they would sometimes be watching a game in the studio and give pretty constant comments/updates on it. Enforcing any such law would be difficult, to say the least, so even if there is one, I doubt MLB (or any other league) tries too hard to stop people from giving updates. I mean, if they did, this site would be in trouble because of the In-Game Threads.

Actually they do, but not usually on radio. You can't show video clips while a game is in progress in general.

I'm not a boxing fan, but it always tilted me when there was a big bout on PPV and ESPN would give updates, but only show still shots of the action.

Al is correct that a radio station that does not have the rights to the game can broadcast 'updates' and 'discussion' about the game, but cannot do 'play-by-play.' For example, several years ago a radio station in the NYC area broadcast several of their employees @ a Super Bowl party and their discussion of the game (among other things), but could not actually do a recreation of the game.