Brewer Fanatic

Yost behind his players to a fault

Really what is it that seperates managers such as, Piniella, LaRussa, or Sciosia from managers like Yost. On one hand, it is good to back your players, no doubt. On the other hand, however, players know when they screw up, and they know when they should shoulder the blame. I was a manager in the business world for several years and realized that hollow, unsubstantiated compliments, were almost as unproductive as no communication at all. Employees, or players for that matter, need to be told the truth to truely earn their respect. Maybe Ned tells the media one thing and players another I don't know. But it certainly doesn't show in his lineup and his actions on the field.

The objective is to get the most out of every individual to optimize the chances of winning. I don't believe Yost has achieved that. Players need to be a little nervous, and maybe look over their shoulder now and then. They need to know if they screw up or simply don't perform, their spot in the lineup is not guaranteed. I hate the Cubs, but that's what I love about Piniella. And the bottom line is he wins.

Piniella didnt win much in Tampa. The cubs have a great roster and I would think that almost any manager in baseball could do well with that team. I do agree that Piniella is a good manager, but it takes more than that to win in the bigs.

Interesting post.

Instead of the "Yost is and idiot" genre, or he "shoulda pulled Sheets" cries, you give good light to what may be the most relavent.

I have supported Ned, but do wonder, in the body of work since last year, if he cannot effectively bring out the most in his team.

I believe this is the larger issue: not game management. but rather long term and deep management to bring players to potential,

With Ned, this may be our the most important concern.