Brewer Fanatic

Advice: Positioning girls in co-ed softball

The Active 33

I am a coach for a team in a co-ed softball tournament this weekend. I am looking for advice and strategy for positioning girls in the field. The rules are 10 player (5 guys and 5 girls), and girls cannot pitch. I have one girl who is good, I am thinking about playing her in left field. Where do I put the 5 girls?

Thanks

Usually, girls play 2B, 3B, LCF, RF, and C, or at least they did 15 years ago. Sometimes they put a girl that can catch at 1B, or one that can throw at 3B. By far the most unique was one team we played had their guys play all 4 OF spots and SS.

I have played a few coed tournies. We always play strong up the middle. Girls at the corners. So, C, 1b, 3b, lf, rf. Men up the middle. Youd be surprised, girls usually never hit it to 3rd. Always up the middle, must be the way they are brought up to play.

my wife plays 3rd for our team, she has a better arm(acurate) then i do, which is why i have played 1st for the last 20 years of baseball and softball, but then again i can do the splits and she can't. She also is a dead pull hitter. I agree that 3rd, 2nd. We also put them in the gap so that the other fielders can cover her.