Brewer Fanatic

Relocating to the Phoenix area

honuswagner21
My fiancee and I are kicking the tires on potentially relocating to the Phoenix area from Milwaukee. I have visited the area a couple of times but am not sure where to even start looking. We are getting married next year and wouldn't make any move until after then. What I am wondering are if there are any areas that should be avoided and if there are any stable spots. We are both in our late 20's, I work in finance and she is an elementary school teacher. Ideally, we'd be somewhat close to our jobs. Anyone have any ideas as to how best to approach this? I'd definitely consider renting for a little while before buying anything.

My suggestion is to do your homework. The valley is currently a huge buyer's/renter's market, with prices dropping daily. Unfortunately they were overinflated for a long time. The Valley is huge, and there's lots of teaching jobs. I work in Paradise Valley Unified School District, which has many perks. But I've also applied to many others.

Brewer Fanatic Contributor
My personal preference is the East Valley - so that means Scottsdale, Tempe, Chandler, Mesa (yuck). I lived in Tempe and Scottsdale and there's a lot to do in each. Another option is Awatukee (sp?) which is on the far south side. That was a nice neighborhood too when I lived in AZ (moved in '02).
"Dustin Pedroia doesn't have the strength or bat speed to hit major-league pitching consistently, and he has no power......He probably has a future as a backup infielder if he can stop rolling over to third base and shortstop." Keith Law, 2006