Brewer Fanatic

Is Prince going to see a power dip this year?

adambr2

No reason to be alarmed, but we really haven't seen Prince drive the ball much since late last year. 1 HR in spring training. Even the one he almost hit out yesterday looked like one that normally carries enough for him to get it.

I'm not a nutritionalist, and I have no knowledge of whether a strict vegetarian diet is possibly detrimental to his homerun power. Probably not. But after 5 weeks of showing little power I do wish it would start coming around a little bit.

He's been spraying the ball more with less power to all fields it seems - thus a higher BA possibly. So we may see him go .320/30HR.. he may dip this year and then next season may be a monster year with a .340BA/50HR.. but right now with what he's doing I think so far he's more likely to do the .320BA mark with 30HR's,.. I'm sure his power will come around, but to what extent?

I guess it all depends on what one means by "power." He's very unlikely to surpass 50 HR again, just because it's incredibly hard to do, but Prince is a lock for 35+ HR per year just almost by accident. However, when I'm considering power, I don't want to sell short the value of 2Bs & SLG in general. Better SLG tends to lead to more OBP, which is obviously a great thing.

I personally expect Prince to hit around 45 HR this season, but I'm guessing he'll have his first 40 2B/40 HR season, too. Imo his BA & OBP will go up, and his SLG will be down ever so slightly.

Stearns Brewing Co.: Sustainability from farm to plate